您的反馈
2 Min Read

伴随失智症而带来的,往往会是行为上的转变。这不只会影响到您的失智亲人,也会影响到他们周围所有人。行为转变可能是失智症的各种特征当中,其中最难应对的挑战。失智症人士发生行为转变时,经常被描述为与 “原来的那个人有着完全不同的个性”。行为转变在失智症早期、中期、晚期阶段不同的时间点出现,并且也会因人以及不同类型失智症而异。

以下是失智症人士在不同阶段的一些常见行为,要注意的是这些行为因人而异:

早期失智症

⇒ 健忘

⇒ 不时会重复说过的话

⇒ 把自己孤立起来

⇒ 一直感觉很疲倦

⇒ 很容易生气

中期失智症

⇒ 在熟悉的地方走失

⇒ 重复说过的话

⇒ 沟通方面有困难

⇒ 忽略个人卫生,疏于照顾自己

⇒ 对时间和事件感觉混乱

⇒ 经常把东西放错地方

⇒ 行为失常

⇒ 忘记日常物品的名称和熟人的名字

⇒ 忘记重要事件,例如子女的生日

⇒ 判断力变差或减弱

⇒ 抽象思维的能力变差或减弱

⇒ 吞咽困难

晚期失智症

⇒ 失去行动能力和进行日常活动的能力

⇒ 失去沟通能力

⇒ 拒绝进食

⇒ 吞咽困难

失智症人士在早期和中期阶段,有时会出现令人关注的行为转变。其中常见的情况包括:

侵略行为

容易激动

容易感到愤怒

烦躁不安

喜欢争论

无缘由地尖叫或哭泣

拒绝洗澡或打理外表

离家出走

失去抑制力

不当性行为

在社交场合做出不当行为

囤积物品

夜间出现不规 律行为(日落症)

夜间起床

重复行为

日落症

焦虑或过度担忧

冷漠或不关心

妄想和/或幻觉

抑郁

错认熟悉的人

个人故事

当年奶奶心里想说的话

陈诗菱医生已故的祖母生前被诊断患失智症。在这个视频中,陈医生告诉我们她在照顾祖母的时候,如何经过多次尝试,才学会理解祖母心里想说的话,也明白了祖母的行为转变,例如错误指责他人、四处游荡的行为,以及情绪忧郁。

陈诗菱医生是邱德拔医院的驻院医师。一手将她带大的祖母,后来患上失智症。 

源自 ForgetUsNot Initiative by LIEN Foundation, Khoo Teck Puat Hospital, & Dementia Singapore

“我的钱在哪里?”

失智症认识与家人互相指责、争论,导致关系紧张,是让家人感到非常难熬以及充满压力的。不幸的是,在失智症人士的家庭中,这种情况经常发生。在这个视频中,冯丽儿告诉我们,她如何总是能够“找到”被她家婆“遗失”的钱。

冯丽儿是一名看护者,也是护理服务机构 Homage 的联合创始人。 她帮助家人应对 家婆Tan Mui Hua出现的失智症状和行为上的变化。

源自 ForgetUsNot Initiative by LIEN Foundation, Khoo Teck Puat Hospital, & Dementia Singapore

行为转变的原因

而大脑控制了所有心智能力,以及思维、情绪和语言等自主能力,当失智症越来越严重, 您的至亲可能会越来越难以辨识自己的需求,也越来越无法自己满足或与他人沟通自己的需求。除此之外,行为上的转变是由大脑的变化导致的,而会出现 怎么样的行为上的变化,则取决于失智症类型和受影响的大脑区域。

从您的失智至亲的角度来理解这些行为,是至关重要的。他们会表现出某些行为,有可能是因为他们有某方面的需求没有得到满足,他们也可能在试 图满足某些需求,或在尝试与周围的人沟通。

导致行为上的转变的未满足需求 ,一般可分为以下四个因素:

1. 生理需求: 您的失智至亲可能身体某处感到疼痛或不适,也可能同时患有其他疾病。

2. 心理/认知需求: 您的亲人可能情绪低落或有其他心理健康问题。他们也可能因为身在他们看来有些奇怪或不熟悉的环境,而感到困惑或受到威胁。

3. 社交需求: 您的亲人可能感到孤独、孤立或无聊。  

4. 环境/外部因素: 您的亲人可能处于一个过度刺激的环境中 (例如,嘈杂的 声音或繁忙的环境),或者在经历一种与日常规律不同的状况。  

如何应付行为转变

身为看护者,当您在应付亲人的行为转变时,厘清可能导致行为上的转变的因素,是很重要的:  

• 是什么触发行为转变? : 可以尝试了解至亲是不是有一些常见的需求,没有获得满足或妥善的处理, 例如: 便秘、疼痛或需要上厕所。您也可以尝试了解至亲是不是受到环境因素的刺激,例如:声响、气味或环境温度。  

• 行为转变是否给失智症人士造成巨大苦恼? :如果是,可能要尽快带他求医。  

• 失智症人士的安全是否受到威胁? : 如果有,居家环境可能需要调整,以确保生活环境安全。  

对于任何一种行为上的转变,不妨将自己就以上的观察以及收集的信息,与亲人的医生(老年科或老年心理科医生)进行讨论。这是为了排除感染或药物副作用等生理问题。在排除这些问题后,在采取药物治疗之前,可以先尝试以非药物的方式,应付失智症亲人未满足的需求,或减缓或避免他们发生行为上的转变。

一般上,非药物方法长远来说,可以发挥良好效果。在考虑使用药物治疗之前,音乐或艺术疗法等社会心理介入方案,通常是率先可以尝试的方法。

以下是一些简单、非药物方案的例子:

1. 调整你的应对方式。
您的亲人在进行的事项可能太复杂,必须简化步骤,或 者需要您提供援助。您可以协助他们把重点放在他们有能力做到的事,而不是他们做不到的事。

2. 对至亲的感受给予认可。 
您应该对至亲的感受和经历给予认可和接受,并且耐心地通过言行向他们传达您的认可。不要与亲人对峙或起争执。即使他们有错在先,也不必一定要纠正他们的错误。

3. 将亲人的注意力转移到别处。 
找到亲人导致行为背后的因素后,可以通过让他们进行有意义的活动,处理这个问题。  

有时候,结合非药物以及药物治疗方案,也可能带来良好的成效。

应付行为转变的贴士

在“询问专家有关失智症”六集系列的第五集中,Ng Wai Chong医生解释为什么失智 症人士会出现行为上的转变。他也解释为何失智症人士会有四处游荡、行为重复、不肯吃药或不肯进食等行为,以及应对这些行为的方法和策略。

源自互联中心

英国阿兹海默氏症协会为看护者提供贴士,引导他们采用非药物方式,应付失智症人士的需求以及减少他们行为上的转变。协会也列出应付失智症人士行为转变的五个步骤。

阅读更多有关英国阿兹海默氏症协会的提供的贴士与策略

要应付患有失智至亲的行为转变,不是一件容易的事。同等要重要的是,您应该通过寻求亲友、辅导员或支援小组的支持,好好照顾自己,才能更好地应付身为看护者所必须承担的责任,在照顾至亲的过程中更加顺畅。阅读有关如何照顾好自己的贴士与资料。

这篇咨询对您是否有帮助?

×

告诉我们如何改进?

×

感谢您的反馈!

您的反馈会帮助我们改进有关失智症的内容与信息。

Follow us on social media:

Facebook Pinterest

这篇咨询对您是否有帮助?

×

告诉我们如何改进?

×

感谢您的反馈!

您的反馈会帮助我们改进有关失智症的内容与信息。

Follow us on social media:

Facebook Pinterest

Downloadable Resources

The following material contains bite-sized information about dementia. To download or print it, simply click the image. You may also select the language of the material by clicking the “Select Language” button.

资料下载

以下的书籍包含了有关失智症的简化资料供您下载或打印。您只需点击插图即可。您也可以点击下方的选项来选择您所偏好的语文。

相关文章

Sed tristique blandit facilisis eleifend elit lobortis eros, massa aenean. Suspendisse aliquam eget tortor viverra nulla duis.
跳至内容

5 Min Read

Dementia is accompanied by behavioural changes, which affect your loved one living with dementia and all of you around him/her. Behavioural changes can be one of the aspects of dementia that are most difficult to address. Persons living with dementia who experience behavioural changes are often described as having a “completely different personality” from their “old self”. Different behaviour changes occur at different points in mild and moderate stages of dementia, and vary between people and across different types of dementia.

These are some common behaviours exhibited by persons in the mild, moderate, and advanced stages of dementia that vary from person to person:

Mild Dementia

⇒ Forgetting things

⇒ Occasionally repeating themselves

⇒ Isolating themselves from others

⇒ Feeling tired all the time

⇒ Being easily irritated

Moderate Dementia

⇒ Getting lost in familiar places

⇒ Repeating things said

⇒ Problems with communication

⇒ Neglecting personal hygiene and self-care

⇒ Losing track of time & events

⇒ Misplacing items more frequently

⇒ Behavioural disturbances

⇒ Forgetting the names of common objects and familiar people

⇒ Forgetting important events, e.g. birthdays of their children

⇒ Being confused about timings and places

⇒ Poor or decreased judgement

⇒ Problems with abstract thinking

⇒ Swallowing problems

Advanced Dementia

⇒ Losing mobility and ability to perform daily tasks

⇒ Losing ability to communicate

⇒ Food refusal

⇒ Swallowing problems

Sometimes, behavioural changes during mild and moderate stages of dementia can cause concern. Some examples of behaviours of concern that are commonly seen include:

Aggression

Agitation

Being easily upset

Being easily irritable

Being prone to argue

Inappropriate screaming or crying

Refusal to shower or be groomed

Running away from home

Disinhibition

Sexually inappropriate behaviour

Socially inappropriate behaviour

Hoarding

Irregular Night-time Activity (Sundowning)

Getting up at night

Repetitive Behaviours

Sundowning

Anxiety or excessive worry

Apathy or indifference

Delusions and/or hallucinations

Depression

Misidentifying familiar people

Personal Stories

What My Grandmother Was Trying To Say

In this video, Dr. Chen Shiling, who cared for her late grandmother living with dementia, tells us how she has learnt to understand what her grandmother was trying to communicate through many trying episodes and her grandmother’s behavioural changes, which included her making wrongful accusations, wandering behaviour, and depression.

Dr. Chen Shiling is a Resident Physician at Khoo Teck Puat hospital. She was raised by her grandmother who had dementia.

Source: ForgetUsNot Initiative by LIEN Foundation, Khoo Teck Puat Hospital, & Dementia Singapore

Where Is My Money?

Episodes involving accusations, arguments, and tension are trying and stressful for family members. Unfortunately, these situations are common in households with persons living with dementia. In this video, Lily tells us her secret to always being able to ‘find’ missing money that has been misplaced by her mother-in-law.

Lily Phang is a caregiver and co-founder of Homage, a caregiving service. She helps her family to cope with the symptoms and behavioural changes that her mother-in-law, Tan Mui Hua faces.

Source: ForgetUsNot Initiative by LIEN Foundation, Khoo Teck Puat Hospital, & Dementia Singapore

Causes of Behaviour Changes

Every individual has needs that need to be met. However, as dementia affects the brain which controls all mental functions and voluntary behaviours including thoughts, emotions, and speech, the progression of dementia may cause your loved one to be increasingly less able to recognise their needs, know how to meet them, or communicate them. In addition to this, behaviour changes also occur due to changes in the brain. The type of behaviour change exhibited depends on the areas of the brain affected by the condition causing the person’s dementia as well.

It is also crucial to understand these behaviours from the perspective of your loved one living with dementia. They may present with these behaviours as a result of their needs not being met, their attempt to meet a need, or an attempt to communicate to individuals around them.

Unmet needs underlying behaviour changes can be generally categorised into the following four factors:

1. Physical Needs: Your loved one living with dementia may be experiencing pain or discomfort, and may be suffering from other illnesses at the same time.

2. Psychological/Cognitive Needs: Your loved one may be depressed or may have other mental health issues. They could also be feeling confused or threatened in an environment that does not seem right or familiar.

3. Social Needs: Your loved one may be feeling lonely, isolated, or bored.

4. Environmental/External Needs: Your loved one may be in an overstimulating environment (e.g., with loud noises or busy environment), or experiencing a different and unfamiliar routine.

Management of Behaviour Changes

When managing your loved one’s behaviours, it is important for you, as a caregiver, to ascertain some factors that may cause certain behaviours to happen. For example:

• What triggers the behaviour: Consider commonly unmet needs, such as constipation, pain, and toileting needs, or environmental triggers such as sounds, smells, and temperature.

• Whether the behaviour is causing distress to the person: If so, prompt treatment may be necessary.

• Whether the safety of the person is compromised: If so, some modifications to the home setting may need to be made to ensure that the environment is safe.

For every behaviour change, it is always good to share the above information you have collected and consult the doctor (geriatrician or psycho-geriatrician) who is seeing your loved one with dementia to rule out any physical health problems (for example, infections, medication side effects) that may be causing it. After ruling these problems out, non-pharmacological approaches should be first attempted to meet your loved one’s unmet needs and minimise or prevent their behaviour changes, before considering pharmacological management.

It is often the daily, non-pharmacological methods and techniques that turn out to be effective in the long-term. Non-pharmacological measures such as psychosocial interventions (e.g., music therapy, art therapy) are usually the first-line approach before medication treatment is considered. Below are some examples of simple, non-pharmacological techniques to consider as well:

1. Revise your approach. The task on hand may be too difficult that it needs to be simplified, or your loved one living with dementia may need some help with it. Help them to focus on their abilities, rather than on their inabilities.

2. Validate your loved one feels. Acknowledge your loved one’s feelings and experience, and patiently communicate this acknowledgement to them by your words and actions. Do not confront or argue – it is not necessary to always correct the person when they are in the wrong.

3. Direct their attention elsewhere. Identify the cause behind the behaviour and address it through engaging your loved one in meaningful activities.

Sometimes, a combination of both non-pharmacological and pharmacological managements may offer better outcomes too. Read further about the Pharmacological Management of dementia and behaviour changes.

Some Tips to Manage Behaviour Changes

In the fifth episode of a 6-part series “All About Dementia – Ask the Experts”, Dr Ng Wai Chong explains why persons living with dementia have changes in their behaviours. He also answers questions related to strategies in managing these behaviour changes, such as wandering behaviour, repetitive behaviour, refusal to take medications, and refusal to eat.

Source: Agency for Integrated Care

The Alzheimer’s Society from the United Kingdom provides general tips to family caregivers on ways to support persons living with dementia to meet their needs and reduce their behaviour changes using a non-pharmacological approach. It also lists a five-step strategy to manage behaviour changes. Read further about Alzheimer’s Society’s tips and strategies

Finally, it is not easy managing the behaviour change(s) your loved one living with dementia is exhibiting. It is thus equally important that you take good care of yourself by seeking support from family, friends, counsellors or support groups, in order to better cope with your caregiving journey. Learn more about tips and resources on how to look after yourself.

Was this article helpful?

Yes No
×

Tell us how we can improve?

×

Thank you for your feedback!

Your feedback will really help us to improve our content to support those living with dementia.

Follow us on social media:

Facebook Pinterest

Was this article helpful?

Yes No
×

Tell us how we can improve?

×

Thank you for your feedback!

Your feedback will really help us to improve our content to support those living with dementia.

Follow us on social media:

Facebook Pinterest

Downloadable Resources

The following resources contain bite-sized information on The ABCDs of Dementia Progression that you may download and/ or print: 
Click on the images below to download in English.

Related Articles

Sed tristique blandit facilisis eleifend elit lobortis eros, massa aenean. Suspendisse aliquam eget tortor viverra nulla duis.
Skip to content