您的反馈
4 Min Read

近年来,越来越多失智包容性的室内设计指导原则是由主题专家制定,旨在为公众人士、看护者和护理专业人员一同改善和提升失智症人士各个方面的生活环境。

失智友善的设计过程

为了和与人为本的护理一致,设计的过程应以合作和咨询的方式这包括听取失智症人士、家属及社区的意见。失智症人士和所属的社区可以以分享他们宝贵的经验来打造一个失智友善的居住环境。通过失智症人士和生活在同个环境中的人士一起的想法和意见,能在设计时可能对他们更为有益也个性化。

失智友善室内设计的共同特征

在世界各地的专家所制定的各种设计指导原则中都有一些共同的特征。这些指导原则强调了精心设计、失智包容性的环境都应该包括在内:3-6

如家和熟悉的环境

对许多人来说,“家” 象征着舒适、安全及保障。而对失智症人士来说一个看似如家的居处是可以给予他们舒适、安全及温暖的感觉。一个熟悉的环境也能够帮助失智症人士知道他们身在何处、找到他们想去的地方并且让他们感到自立及避免走失。因此,环境应该对失智症人士而言是熟悉的也反映了本地的家庭典型设计特征。

安全

失智症会改变患者的思维,可能影响他们做出正确的判断和风险评估。因此,打造一个能让失智症人士安全地行走(例如提高可视度、减少杂物来预防跌倒及避免进入高风险地区域)是十分重要的。 

支持认知和其他能力

一个精心设计的环境可以弥补失智症所造成的认知障碍和其他能力限制。支持失智症人士所仅存能力的一些方法包括:

  1. 适当和充足的光线将有助于减少眼睛疲劳并提高深度感知
  2. 桌面和餐具之间强烈的颜色对比有助于提高区分性
  3. 墙纸和地板上没有太多的图案有助于避免分心

适当的环境及感官刺激

周围环境里有过多的感官刺激可能会导致失智症人士不适,而出现负面的行为变化(如困惑、定向障碍、激动、焦虑等)。一个平静和宁静的环境可以缓解痛苦并且减低行为变化的几率。因此,为了支持失智症人士与周围环境有积极互动,他们所接触的刺激量应该保持平衡 – 减少负面而鼓励正面的刺激。

尽量避免:

  1. 大声喧哗和持续的声音
  2. 室内和室外的温差极度变化
  3. 光线不足或太亮
  4. 过度亮丽及复杂的壁纸图案或地板设计

授权与自主权

一个精心设计的友善环境应该给于失智症人士尽可能能够独立和自主生活的能力,例如自己能够自由走动和管理自己的选择。这可以大幅度地提高他们的幸福感和自信心。

个人空间及隐私权

您可以为失智症人士打造一个具有不同功能的空间。它必须能够让失智症人士享有私人的空间及让自己享受安静的片刻。

在设计以中心为基础的服务和护理设施中,一些时常运作事项的范围,例如运送货物或收集垃圾等必须远离失智症人士的视野,以便减少对他们的干扰。

活动空间和有意义的参与

失智症人士应该要有足够的空间和机会让他们参与对本身有意义和有目的的个人或团体活动。这些活动将有助于保持他们的认知和其他能力。 这些活动必须依照他们在这段期间的偏爱或兴趣来安排, 并且适合他们的文化背景和年龄层。

社交互动机会

在以中心为基础的服务和护理设施中,家具和座位的安排方式可以让失智症人士进行社交互动,并促进他们的身心健康。

可及性

一个包容性失智症的社区将为失智症人士能提供方便的基本社区服务和便利设施(如邮政局、超市、银行、医院和诊所等)。

失智友善设计原则的资源

检查表和审核工具与失智症友善设计的原则是共存的。这些工具及原则能够让公众人士、看护者及专业护理人员评估并找出需要改进的地方来更好的帮助失智症人士。大多数的检查表和审核工具都适合自行管理。

当中的一些改进可以如简单和低成本的设计标志或更换灯泡等,而其他比较大规模翻新就需要更高的预算。 无论什么大小变化,室内的改换对失智症人士而言有一定的正面影响。

以下是我们收集了世界各地的专家所提供有关室内改造或设计的一些原则及建议供您参考。请注意以下所列的设计指导原则、检查表和评估/审核工具的资源清单并不详尽无遗的。此外,并不是每一个检查表或评估/审核工具是完美的。您可以选择一个或多个适合工具来迎合你们的需求。

最重要的是,在实践之前,我们必须充分了解并熟悉设计一个失智友善环境的原则。

以下是为设计失智友善环境的一些资源:

  • 各种环境设置
  • 户外环境

各种环境设置

本地资源

基本失智友善环境设计

Dementia-Friendly Environmental Design Principles
播放有关的视频 Dementia-Friendly Environmental Design Principles

第一部: 失智友善环境设
源自护联中心

  1. 失智友善环境设计简介及正面环境对失智症护理的作用。​
  2. 环境与设计原则如何应用于新加坡的建筑环境。​
blank
播放视频

第二部: 把科技和文化的敏感性 融入失智症护理。适合使用在本地的工具:新加坡环境评估工具(简称SEAT)
源自护联中心

  1. 失智友善设计原则 ​
  2. 了解SEAT的用途 ​
  3. 科技和文化在失智友善设计中的作用 ​
Looking to the Future – Inclusive Design for People Living With Dementia

“Looking to the Future” (2nd Edition) and Singaporean Environment Assessment Tool (SEAT)
源自护联中心

本指南的重点在于如何把失智友善设计融入在新加坡社区里的护理设施。该指南详细地介绍了设计失智友善设施和空间的六个原则,并提供用户如何在各种空间将这些原则付诸实践的建议和示例,包括:

  • 通用设施 (大堂、电梯、入口及出口)
  • 卧室
  • 厕所与浴室
  • 治疗活动空间
  • 感官和怀旧空间
  • 安静的空间
  • 用餐区和备餐间
  • 疗愈花园和户外空间

国外资源

Alzheimer's WA Enabling Environments

Dementia Enabling Environment Virtual Information Centre
源自 Alzheimer’s WA

西澳阿兹海默症的失智症环境虚拟信息中心提供了设计指导原则、实用的技巧和资源,使一些环境更适合失智症人士。这些环境包括:

  • 居家
  • 护理环境
  • 花园
  • 公共建筑
  • 医院


此中心还提供了一系列的环境评估和设计审核工具来评估失智症的护理环境。

National Disability Authority Ireland_Research For Dementia & Home Design

Research for “Dementia and Home Design in Ireland Looking at New Build and Retro-Fit Homes From a Universal Design Approach: Key Findings and Recommendations Report 2015
源自 National Disability Authority Ireland

爱尔兰残疾人士管理局刊登了一些资源,为设计失智友善环境提供了实用的指导和要点。这份2015年的报告是一项联合研究一部分的撰搞。目的是奠定爱尔兰对失智症人士全国设计指南的需求而定。

National Disability Authority Ireland_Universal Design Guidelines

Universal Design Guidelines Dementia Friendly Dwellings for People With Dementia, Their Families and Carers Centre for Excellence in Universal Design
源自 National Disability Authority Ireland

这些指南是根据上述2015年报告中详细介绍的合作研究制定的。

失智症人士的家资源清单

本地资源

Elderly & Dementia-Inclusive Environment

Elderly- and Dementia-Friendly Environment
源于南洋理工学院,护联中心, 新加坡失智症机构

出版这本册子的目的是为了帮助那些想在政府组屋内打造一个亲失智的居住环境。大多数的本地人都与他们的失智至亲住在政府组屋内。

这本册子也归纳了如何在政府组屋内外设计疗愈的环境。

它也提供了一个79项个方面的清单,方便让读者参考及提醒读者设计失智友善环境的准则如:

  • 宽阔的空间 
  • 导向标识 
  • 可及性与安全性 
  • 灯光与自然 
  • 颜色对比 
  • 宁静的环境 
  • 障碍或挑战 
Lien Foundation Hack Care

Hack Care
源自连氏基金

连氏基金所出版的HACK CARE是一个240页的建议目录,让失智症人士及其家属的居家成为一个失智友善的环境。它汇集了实用的技巧、令人惊艳的建议和简单的提示和技巧,来简化看护者每天在应对护理挑战的生活,同时将其转化为有意义和丰富的时刻。

国外资源

Alzheimer's Society_Making Your Home Dementia Friendly

Making Your Home Dementia Friendly
源自Alzheimer’s Society

英国的阿兹海默症协会出版了一本册子来帮助读者设计一个失智友善的居家环境,以支持失智症人士及其家属。

这本册子包括几个附录,每个部分涵盖了居家生活不同方面的考量。 有些贴士也需要专业人士的协助与支持 :

  • 灯光
  • 家具和装饰
  • 地板
  • 进食和饮水
  • 使用厕所或浴室
  • 知道物品的位置
  • 保持物件井然有序
  • 保持安全

这本册子也附有一个清单供读者参考并把居家设计得更具亲失智。

Dementia Australia_Safety In and Around the Home

Safety in and Around the Home
源自Dementia Australia

这个由澳洲失智症协会所编制的清单涵盖了一系列的贴士供失智症人士的亲朋好友、家属及看护者来改善居家的安全措施及环境。

这页也包括了一个清单来让读者审核家中的安全隐患 。

SCIE_Dementia-friendly Environments

Dementia-Friendly Guidelines
源自 Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE), UK

英国的卓越社会护理研究所(简称SCIE)所提供的这些资源,包含了关于如何将居家内外及各方面的环境设计成为亲失智,例如:

  • 厨房及膳食处
  • 卧室
  • 厕所及浴室
  • 花园
  • 灯光
  • 辅助科技
  • 声量

仅用于户外环境的资源列表

本地资源

Six Principles of Dementia-Friendly Neighbourhood (By SUTD)

Six Principles of Dementia-Friendly Neighbourhood
源自 SUTD, AIC

由护联中心(简称 AIC)及新加坡科技设计大学(简称 SUTD)所出版的文案规划了六项指导原则来帮助设计新加坡失智友善的户外空间及环境。这也包含了如何介入失智友善的做法,以供参考。 

国外资源

blank

Neighbourhoods for Life
源自 Oxford Centre for Sustainable Development, UK

Mitchell, Burton & Raman (2004) 共创了一份建议清单来帮助房屋协会/委员会设计合适失智症人士的户外环境。这些建议是通过3年的研究项目而达成的清单。

这篇咨询对您是否有帮助?

×

告诉我们如何改进?

×

感谢您的反馈!

您的反馈会帮助我们改进有关失智症的内容与信息。

Follow us on social media:

Facebook Pinterest
  1. Rapoport, A. (1990). The meaning of the built environment: A nonverbal communication approach. University of Arizona Press
  2. Chaudhury, H., & Cooke, H. (2014). Design matters in dementia care: The role of the physical environment in dementia care settings. In M. Downs & B. Bowers (Eds.), Excellence in dementia care: Research into practice (pp. 144-158). Open University Press.
  3. Agency for Integrated Care. (2021). Looking into the future (second edition): Inclusive design for people living with dementia. https://www.aic.sg/resources/Documents/Brochures/Mental%20Health/Looking%20to%20the%20Future.pdf 
  4. Nanyang Polytechnic, & Alzheimer’s Disease Association. (2019). Elderly- and dementia-inclusive environment. https://www.aic.sg/resources/Documents/Brochures/Mental%20Health/AIC%20NYP%20Guidebook%20Eng.pdf
  5. Yuen, B., Bhuyan, M. R., Močnik, Š., & Yap, W. (2020). Six principles of dementia-friendly neighbourhood. https://www.aic.sg/resources/Documents/Brochures/Mental%20Health/SUTL%20Dementia%20Friendly%20Guidelines.pdf
  6. Chaudhury, H., Hung, L., & Badger, M. (2013). The Role of Physical Environment in Supporting Person-centered Dining in Long-Term Care. American Journal of Alzheimer’s Disease & Other Dementias, 28(5), 491–500. doi: 10.1177/1533317513488923

这篇咨询对您是否有帮助?

×

告诉我们如何改进?

×

感谢您的反馈!

您的反馈会帮助我们改进有关失智症的内容与信息。

Follow us on social media:

Facebook Pinterest

Downloadable Resources

The following material contains bite-sized information about dementia. To download or print it, simply click the image. You may also select the language of the material by clicking the “Select Language” button.

资料下载

以下的书籍包含了有关失智症的简化资料供您下载或打印。您只需点击插图即可。您也可以点击下方的选项来选择您所偏好的语文。

相关文章

Sed tristique blandit facilisis eleifend elit lobortis eros, massa aenean. Suspendisse aliquam eget tortor viverra nulla duis.
跳至内容

Help Us Improve
10 Min Read
In recent years, there has been a growing pool of dementia-inclusive design guiding principles developed by subject matter experts, intended for laypersons, caregivers, and care professionals to address and enhance the different aspects of the physical environments that persons with dementia live in.

A Dementia-Inclusive Design Process

To be in line with the delivery of person-centred dementia care, the design process should take into account the voices of persons living with dementia and their families, and the voices of the communities they are from, in a collaborative and consultative manner. Persons living with dementia and their communities can draw on their unique resources and identities to shape their environments. By including the ideas and opinions of persons living with dementia and those who live in the same environment, the design process may be more beneficial and personalized for them.

Common Features Across Various Dementia-Inclusive Design Principles

Across the various design guiding principles developed by experts all over the world, here are some common features that these guidelines have highlighted what a well-designed, supportive dementia-inclusive environment should comprise:3-6

Homely & Familiar Environment

“Home” symbolizes comfort, safety, and security for many individuals. A homely environment that is familiar to persons living with dementia can provide them with the feelings of security, comfort and warmth. A familiar environment can also help them to know where they are and find where they want to go, further promoting independence and supporting wayfinding. An environment should therefore be familiar to the person living with dementia and reflect the characteristics of a typical Singaporean home setting.

Safety

Dementia brings about changes to the brain that may impair risk assessment abilities and affect judgments. It is important to create a safe environment for persons living with dementia to move around, such as increasing visibility, reducing clutter, preventing falls and avoiding access to high-risk areas.

Supporting Cognitive & Functional Abilities

A well-designed supportive environment can compensate for the cognitive impairments and functional limitations that dementia causes. Some ways to support the remaining abilities of persons living with dementia include:

  • Appropriate and adequate lighting help to reduce eyestrain and improve depth perception
  • Strong colour contrasts between table tops and dinnerware help to improve differentiation
  • Not too much patterns in walls and flooring help to prevent distraction

Appropriate
Environmental/ Sensory Stimulation

Too many stimuli in the surroundings can overstimulate persons living with dementia, leading to negative behavioural changes (e.g., confusion, disorientation, agitation, anxiety, etc.). A calm and serene environment can alleviate distress and minimize behavioural changes.

Thus, to support persons living with dementia to interact positively with their surroundings, there should be a balance in the amount of stimuli that they are exposed to. Negative stimuli should be reduced and positive stimuli should be encouraged.

Avoid exposure to:

  • Loud noises and continuous sound
  • Drastic swings in temperatures
  • Inadequate lighting
  • Bright and confusing prints

Empowerment & Autonomy

A well-designed supportive environment should empower persons with dementia to live as independently and as autonomously as possible, such as moving around by themselves and managing their own choices. This can maximize their well-being and confidence levels.

Personal Space & Privacy

Physical spaces of different functions can be created for persons living with dementia. There should be a space for them to get some privacy and enjoy quiet moments by themselves. 

In centre-based services and care facilities, physical spaces for operational functions, such as delivery of goods or rubbish collection, should be designed in a manner that they do not come into the view of persons living with dementia, to reduce interference and disturbance to them.

Activity Space & Meaningful Participation

There should be physical spaces and opportunities for persons living with dementia to engage in individual and group activities which are meaningful and purposeful to them, as activities can help to maintain their cognitive and functional abilities. Activities offered to persons living with dementia should be tailored to their preferences and interests during that period of time, and be culturally and age appropriate as well.

Opportunities for Social Interactions

In centre-based services and care facilities, furniture and seating can be arranged in a manner where groups of persons living with dementia can socialize and interact, promoting their well-being.

Accessibility

A dementia-inclusive community would offer persons living with dementia easy accessibility to essential services and amenities in the neighbourhood (e.g., post office, markets/supermarkets, banks, hospitals and clinics, etc.).

Resources on Dementia-Inclusive Design Principles

Checklists and audit tools are typically included along with dementia-inclusive design guiding principles, for laypersons, caregivers, and/or care professionals to assess and identify key areas for improvement in the physical environments to better support persons living with dementia. Most of these checklists and assessment/audit tools can be self-administered. 

Some of these improvements can be as small as creating signages or changing the lightings at a low cost, while others may involve larger-scale renovations which will require a higher budget. No matter what these changes are, they can have a major impact in creating dementia-inclusive environments for persons living with dementia.

In the following sections, design guiding principles developed by subject matter experts all over the world, have been consolidated and classified according to the different settings they can be applied to. Resources which contain the abovementioned checklists and assessment/audit tools will be indicated in the tables below.

Please note that the following lists of resources of design guiding principles, and checklists and assessment/audit tools are not exhaustive. Additionally, there is no one perfect checklist or assessment/audit tool, users may select one or a combination of several tools that suit their needs.

Most importantly, one should understand and be thoroughly familiar with the guiding principles to design and create a dementia-inclusive and person-centred environment, before putting them into practice.

The section below lists resources on dementia-inclusive design for:

  • Physical Environments of Various Settings
  • Outdoor Environments

List of Resources on Physical Environments of Various Settings

Local Resources

Dementia-Friendly Environment Design (Basic)

Dementia-Friendly Environmental Design Principles
Play Video about Dementia-Friendly Environmental Design Principles

Part 1: Dementia-Friendly Environmental Design Principles
Source: Agency For Integrated Care

  1. Introduction to Dementia-Friendly environmental design and the role that a positive environment can have on dementia care.
  2. Relationship between environment and how the design principles can be applied in built environments in Singapore.
Play Video

Part 2: Leveraging on Technology and Cultural Sensitivity in Dementia Care. The use of Localised Tool: Singapore Environment Assessment Tool (SEAT)
Source: Agency For Integrated Care

  1. Principles of Dementia-Inclusive design principles
  2. Understand the use of Singapore Environmental Assessment Tool (SEAT).
  3. The role of technology and culture in Dementia-Friendly Design.
Looking to the Future – Inclusive Design for People Living With Dementia

“Looking to the Future” (2nd Edition) and Singaporean Environment Assessment Tool (SEAT)
Source: Agency For Integrated Care

The second edition of “Looking to the Future” serves as a guidebook to build dementia-friendly design in community care facilities in Singapore. This booklet details the six principles in designing dementia-friendly facilities and spaces, providing recommendations and examples of how users may put these principles into practice in various physical spaces, including:

  • Common Areas (lobby, lift lobbies, entrances and exits)
  • Bedrooms
  • Toilets and Showers
  • Therapeutic Activity Spaces
  • Sensory and Reminiscence Areas
  • Quiet Spaces
  • Dining Areas and Dry Pantries
  • Therapeutic Gardens and Outdoor Spaces

 

The second part of the guidebook introduces the Singaporean Environment Assessment Tool (SEAT), which provides a systematic framework for reviewing environments for persons living with dementia and identifying areas for improvement. The SEAT is designed to be used by a non-design professional and can be completed by a member of staff or a person visiting the facility with minimal knowledge of dementia care.

Overseas Resources

Alzheimer's WA Enabling Environments

Dementia Enabling Environment Virtual Information Centre
Source: Alzheimer’s WA

Alzheimer’s Western Australia’s Dementia Enabling Environment Virtual Information Centre provides design guiding principles, practical tips, and resources to make some physical environments more dementia enabling. These environments include:

  • The home
  • Care environments
  • Gardens
  • Public buildings
  • Hospitals

This Virtual Information Centre also provides a pool of Environmental Assessment Tools and Design Audit Tools for use to assess dementia care environments.

National Disability Authority Ireland_Research For Dementia & Home Design

Research for “Dementia and Home Design in Ireland Looking at New Build and Retro-Fit Homes From a Universal Design Approach: Key Findings and Recommendations Report 2015
Source: National Disability Authority Ireland

The National Disability Authority in Ireland has published resources which provide useful pointers and discussion points on designing dementia-inclusive environments.

This 2015 report was written as part of a collaborative research study that was developed to underpin the development of Ireland’s national Guidelines used to inform future design of dwelling for persons living with dementia, and to retrofit existing dwellings using a Universal Design approach.

National Disability Authority Ireland_Universal Design Guidelines

Universal Design Guidelines Dementia Friendly Dwellings for People With Dementia, Their Families and Carers Centre for Excellence in Universal Design
Source: National Disability Authority Ireland

These guidelines were developed in response to the collaborative research study detailed in the 2015 report above.

List of Resources for the Homes of Persons Living with Dementia

Local Resources

Elderly & Dementia-Inclusive Environment

Elderly- and Dementia-Friendly Environment
Source: Nanyang Polytechnic, AIC, Dementia Singapore

This booklet by Nanyang Polytechnic, Dementia Singapore, and Agency for Integrated Care serves as a guidance and starting point for individuals who intend to build an inclusive, supportive, and sustainable environmental design in Housing and Development Board (HDB) flats/apartments where most Singaporeans reside, and in which most elderly and persons living with dementia are living with their families.

It offers recommendations on the therapeutic design of the physical environment, including both environments inside and outside (Residential Estate) of a HDB flat/ apartment.

The booklet also offers a 79-item checklist that reminds and recommends individuals the aspects to focus on when considering designing and building an elderly- and dementia-inclusive environment. This checklist focuses on the following areas:

  • Spatial Environment
  • Wayfinding
  • Accessibility and Safety
  • Lighting and Nature
  • Colour Contrast
  • Tranquil Environment
  • Barriers or Challenges
Lien Foundation Hack Care

Hack Care
Source: Lien Foundation

HACK CARE by LIEN Foundation is a catalogue of more than 240 pages of ideas to make a home a friendlier environment for persons living with dementia and their families. It assembles practical hacks, surprising ideas, and simple tips and tricks to simplify a caregiver’s life as they cope with the daily challenges of caregiving, while transforming them into meaningful and enriching moments. 

Overseas Resources

Alzheimer's Society_Making Your Home Dementia Friendly

Making Your Home Dementia Friendly
Source: Alzheimer’s Society

The Alzheimer’s Society in the United Kingdom has developed a booklet which describes some of the ways to create a more dementia-inclusive home, to support persons living with dementia and their families.

The booklet comprises multiple sections, where each section covers a different aspect of living at home. Some of the tips offered by this booklet, may require help and support from care professionals as well. The sections include:

  • Lighting
  • Furniture and furnishings
  • Flooring
  • Eating and drinking
  • Using the bathroom
  • Knowing where things are
  • Keeping things in order
  • Keeping safe

 

The booklet contains a checklist that recommends some changes individuals can implement to make their homes more dementia-inclusive.

Dementia Australia_Safety In and Around the Home

Safety in and Around the Home
Source: Dementia Australia

This resource by Dementia Australia contains tips on how friends, family, and caregivers of persons living with dementia, can improve the safety of the physical environment in and around the home.

The page comprises a simple safety checklist for individuals to assess their homes for any safety hazards.

SCIE_Dementia-friendly Environments

Dementia-Friendly Guidelines
Source: Social Care Institute for Excellence, UK

These resources by the Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE) in the United Kingdom, contain information on how the physical environments of various aspects in and around a home can be designed to be more dementia-inclusive, such as: 

  • Kitchen and dining areas
  • Bedrooms
  • Toilets and bathrooms  
  • Gardens
  • Lighting
  • Assistive technology
  • Noise levels

List of Resources for Outdoor Environments Only

Local Resources

Six Principles of Dementia-Friendly Neighbourhood (By SUTD)

Six Principles of Dementia-Friendly Neighbourhood
Source: SUTD, AIC

The Agency for Integrated Care and Singapore University of Technology and Design have authored a document which outlines six guiding principles and features which are useful for designing dementia-friendly outdoor spaces and environments in Singapore. Good practices of dementia-friendly interventions are offered in this document for consideration as well.

Overseas Resources

Neighbourhoods for Life
Source: Oxford Centre for Sustainable Development, UK

Mitchell, Burton & Raman (2004) have created a checklist of recommendations to help housing associations/boards improve and design dementia-friendly outdoor environments. These recommendations are supported by findings of a three-year research project.

Was this article helpful?

Yes No
×

Tell us how we can improve?

×

Thank you for your feedback!

Your feedback will really help us to improve our content to support those living with dementia.

Follow us on social media:

Facebook Pinterest
  1. Rapoport, A. (1990). The meaning of the built environment: A nonverbal communication approach. University of Arizona Press
  2. Chaudhury, H., & Cooke, H. (2014). Design matters in dementia care: The role of the physical environment in dementia care settings. In M. Downs & B. Bowers (Eds.), Excellence in dementia care: Research into practice (pp. 144-158). Open University Press.
  3. Agency for Integrated Care. (2021). Looking into the future (second edition): Inclusive design for people living with dementia. https://www.aic.sg/resources/Documents/Brochures/Mental%20Health/Looking%20to%20the%20Future.pdf 
  4. Nanyang Polytechnic, & Alzheimer’s Disease Association. (2019). Elderly- and dementia-inclusive environment. https://www.aic.sg/resources/Documents/Brochures/Mental%20Health/AIC%20NYP%20Guidebook%20Eng.pdf
  5. Yuen, B., Bhuyan, M. R., Močnik, Š., & Yap, W. (2020). Six principles of dementia-friendly neighbourhood. https://www.aic.sg/resources/Documents/Brochures/Mental%20Health/SUTL%20Dementia%20Friendly%20Guidelines.pdf
  6. Chaudhury, H., Hung, L., & Badger, M. (2013). The Role of Physical Environment in Supporting Person-centered Dining in Long-Term Care. American Journal of Alzheimer’s Disease & Other Dementias, 28(5), 491–500. doi: 10.1177/1533317513488923

Was this article helpful?

Yes No
×

Tell us how we can improve?

×

Thank you for your feedback!

Your feedback will really help us to improve our content to support those living with dementia.

Follow us on social media:

Facebook Pinterest

Downloadable Resources

The following material contains bite-sized information about dementia. To download or print it, simply click the image. You may also select the language of the material by clicking the “Select Language” button.

Downloadable Resources

The following material contains bite-sized information about dementia. To download or print it, simply click the image. You may also select the language of the material by clicking the “Select Language” button.

Related Articles

Sed tristique blandit facilisis eleifend elit lobortis eros, massa aenean. Suspendisse aliquam eget tortor viverra nulla duis.
Skip to content