您的反馈
3 Min Read

看护者通过阅读可以获得许多贴士,以满足早期失智症至亲的护理需求。本书单包含免费、实用的资源,来提供支持。

看护失智症人士可能是一段漫长、困难重重的旅程。如果您的至亲近期被诊断有失智症,您可能会感到不知所措,并且对失智症可能带来的变化毫无准备。阅读相关书籍可以装备自己。 

国家图书馆已经整理了一份关于看护失智症人士的书单。这些书籍涵盖了许多关于家庭看护者或专业看护者在看护失智症人士的旅程中所得到的启发。所有书籍的电子版都能从国家图书馆的网站免费下载,您也可以根据自己的时间立刻在线上阅读。

推荐给失智症人士看护者的书籍

非虚构作品:看护者的回忆录

即使您是失智至亲的唯一看护者,您在看护的旅程中并非孤身一人。因此,通过阅读来了解其他看护者的不同观点有助于获得宽慰和启发,同时也让您了解看护的工作其实有更深的含义。这些书籍可以让您为自己与失智至亲的关系上的改变做好准备,并了解在您的失智至亲的预后过程中所可能会遇到的状况。

作者:Cathie Borrie (电子版)

Cathie Borrie所 撰写的是一本关于她看护患有阿尔茨海默症父母的触动心灵且引人深思的回忆录。它获得了著名作家 Maya Angelou 和失智症专家 Lisa Genova 的赞誉。这本书将作者七年的经历绘制成一幅深情的画像,充满了对生活的热爱。

作者: Jeanette A. Auger and Diane Tedford-Litle (电子版)

这是一本引人反思的书本,它记录了看护者照顾失智至亲的个人经历,也涵盖了诸如行为变化、诊断的课题,并附有免费资源。

作者:Amy Newmark, Angela Timashenka Geiger (电子版)

这本书是看护者的心灵支持和精神激励之源。这个与阿尔茨海默症协会合作的项目汇集了 101 个的实体经验,并为您的看护之旅带来社区感。

作者: Jann Arden (电子版)

作者Jann Arden 的母亲患有阿尔茨海默症,《抚养我的母亲》是她对自己转变为母亲的主要看护者的坦率、幽默和鼓舞人心的叙述。尽管母亲渐渐变成了一位陌生人,但 Jann 在看护母亲时找到了内心的平静。这本书为那些正在应对至亲失去记忆的人士带来了启发和力量,它也是一个应对生活挑战的优秀典范。

非虚构作品:看护指南

这份书单上的大多数的书籍都是由有经验的护士、医生和社工等专业看护者所撰写的。他们都在看护失智症人士方面有丰富的经验。他们致力于解答可能困扰看护者的挑战,涵盖了从与至亲的沟通到管理日落症、营养不良和攻击行为等症状的课题。

作者: Nancy L. Mace, Peter B. Rabins (电子版)

这本经典著作为应对失智症看护中所遇到的挑战提供了实用的建议,并且表达了对日常生活和情感支持的见解。

作者: Laura Wayman (电子版)

这本充满同理关怀的指南为失智症人士看护者提供了实用的策略和技巧,帮助他们与患有阿尔茨海默症或其他形式的失智症人士建立联系,并提供温情的看护服务,提升了失智症人士的生活质量。

作者: Molly Wisniewski (电子版)

Molly Wisniewsk所 撰写的综合指南为看护失智至亲的看护者提供了实用的建议和支持,同时还强调了自我护理的重要性,并提供了在看护旅程中全程保持自身健康的策略。

作者:Landsverk, MD, Elizabeth (电子版和音频版)

这本书为看护者和至亲提供了精简的建议和策略,帮助那些患有阿尔茨海默症和其他失智症的人士在当下的人生中寻找快乐并克服挑战。

作者:Elizabeth Tierney (电子版)

这是一本感人至深且引人深思的著作。它提供了如何照顾失智症人士的宝贵经验。真人真事,这本书讲述了作者看护丈夫的故事。她的丈夫在 1997 年被诊断有失智症。

Book Cover for A Caregiver's Guide to Dementia

作者 Janet Yagoda Shagam (电子版)

这本书采用了个人叙述和经过印证的咨询。作者透过这本书完整的介绍失智症(脑部失调)和其伴随的行为特征、诊断失智症阶段的过程及程序及相关法律的程序。作者也以个人的经历撰写,涵盖了其他失智症书籍通常不会探讨的课题。

作者:Bernie McCarthy (电子版)

这本简明实用的书籍解释了与失智症人士沟通所面临的挑战,并提供了口头和书面沟通的技巧,以及针对特定日常情况的策略。这本书对任何智症人士的看护者是不可缺少的读物。

非常感谢国家图书馆(简称NLB)的委员会为本书单的贡献。

额外资料

视频系列 3部曲
Caregiver Conversations
源自:护联中心,失智友善新加坡

Janet Koh分享她的看护经验和实用资源。在第 1 部曲中,Janet 谈到了看护失智症母亲的经历。点击此处来观看视频。

 

blank

提供护理

源于:护联中心

这个系列包括了 4 本书籍,旨在为看护者提供与至亲有效的沟通贴士。它涵盖了如何设计具有吸引力的日常活动以及如何在失智症的进展阶段进行管理。

blank

自我关爱

源自:护联中心

这本资源书的系列包括了 4 本册子, 旨在让看护者了解他们的角色。其中包括自我护理的重要性和贴士。这本册子也讲述了如何处理自己的情绪,应对看护者的压力,避免倦怠,以及在家中和社区内寻求帮助的途径和场所。

blank

A Caregiver’s Top 20 Questions

源自:护联中心

这份文件提供看护者在至亲被诊断前后常会遇到的挑战及问题。

blank

失智症支持和服务目录
源自:护联中心

这份长达2 页的目录列出了所有的支援热线、支持和服务,例如区域内的社区外展团队、社区干预团队、临时护理服务和看护者支援小组。

这篇文章对您是否有帮助?

×

告诉我们如何改进?

×

感谢您的反馈!

您的反馈会帮助我们改进有关失智症的内容与信息。

Follow us on social media:

Facebook Pinterest

这篇文章对您是否有帮助?

×

告诉我们如何改进?

×

感谢您的反馈!

您的反馈会帮助我们改进有关失智症的内容与信息。

Follow us on social media:

Facebook Pinterest

Downloadable Resources

The following material contains bite-sized information about dementia. To download or print it, simply click the image. You may also select the language of the material by clicking the “Select Language” button.

资料下载

以下的书籍包含了有关失智症的简化资料供您下载或打印。您只需点击插图即可。您也可以点击下方的选项来选择您所偏好的语文。

相关文章

Sed tristique blandit facilisis eleifend elit lobortis eros, massa aenean. Suspendisse aliquam eget tortor viverra nulla duis.
跳至内容

Help Us Improve
7 Min Read

Through reading, caregivers can gain a lot of tips to address the care needs of a loved one recently diagnosed with dementia. This list of books are a free, helpful resource and can provide support in managing your role as a caregiver.

Caring for someone living with dementia may be a long and challenging journey. If your loved one has just been diagnosed with dementia, you may be feeling overwhelmed and unprepared for the changes dementia might bring. Reading can provide a form of resource to equip yourself. 

The National Library Board has compiled a list of books on caregiving for persons living with dementia. These books have been written with practical tips and the acquired wisdom of people who have walked this journey as a family caregiver or care professional advising caregivers. All of these books are free to loan from the National Library in the E-book format which you can read almost immediately at your own time online.

Book Recommendations for Caregivers of Persons living with Dementia

Non-Fiction: Memoirs written by Caregivers

It is important to remember that you are not alone on your caregiving journey even when you are the sole family caregiver to a loved one living with dementia. Hence, reading about the different perspectives of other caregivers can help provide comfort and inspiration, and deeper meaning to caregiving. These books can prepare you for changes in the relationship with your loved one and what to expect along the course of a loved one’s prognosis.

by Cathie Borrie (Available as e-book)

“The Long Hello” by Cathie Borrie is a powerful and insightful memoir about caring for a parent with Alzheimer’s. It has won praise from noted writers and Alzheimer’s experts alike, including Maya Angelou and Lisa Genova. The book distills the author’s seven-year experience into a deeply loving portrait that embraces life.

by Jeanette A. Auger and Diane Tedford-Litle (Available as e-book)

“Caregiving for Alzheimer’s Disease and Related Disorders” is an insightful book that documents the personal experience of caregivers caring for loved ones with dementia. It covers topics such as behavioural changes, diagnosis, and available resources.

by Amy Newmark, Angela Timashenka Geiger (Available as e-book)

“Chicken Soup for the Soul: Living with Alzheimer’s & Other Dementias” is a source of support and encouragement for caregivers. This joint project with the Alzheimer’s Association is filled with 101 stories of love and lessons from others like you, providing a sense of community throughout your caregiving journey.

by Jann Arden (Available as e-book)

“Feeding My Mother” is a frank, funny, and inspirational account of Jann Arden’s transformation into the primary caregiver for her mother, who has Alzheimer’s. Jann finds peace in caring for her mom, even as her mom slowly becomes a stranger. This book offers inspiration and strength to those dealing with a loved one who is losing it, and is a wonderful example of how to roll with life’s challenges.

Non-Fiction: Guidebooks on Caregiving

Most of the books on this list are written by care professionals experienced in working with people living with dementia, including nurses, doctors and social workers. They are written to provide answers to the concerns caregivers might have, from communication with your loved one to managing symptoms like sundowning, malnutrition and aggression.

by Nancy L. Mace, Peter B. Rabins (Available as e-book)

This classic offers practical advice for managing the challenges of dementia caregiving, providing insights into daily routines and emotional support. The 7th edition is also available as an E-book.

by Laura Wayman (Available as e-book)

This book is a compassionate guidebook that provides practical strategies and techniques for caregivers to connect with individuals with Alzheimer’s disease or other forms of dementia, and to provide meaningful care that enhances their quality of life.

by Molly Wisniewski (Available as e-book)

Wisniewski’s comprehensive guidebook is one that offers practical advice and support for caregivers who are caring for a loved one with dementia, while also emphasizing the importance of self-care and providing strategies for maintaining one’s own well-being throughout the caregiving journey.

by Landsverk, MD, Elizabeth (Available as e-book and audiobook)

This book provides succinct advice and strategies for caregivers and family members to help those with Alzheimer’s disease and other dementias find moments of joy and overcome challenges by living in the present moment.

by Elizabeth Tierney (Available as e-book)

“Dignifying Dementia” is a touching and insightful read that offers valuable lessons on how to care for someone with dementia. It’s a personal account of the author’s experience caring for her husband, who was diagnosed with dementia in 1997.

Book Cover for A Caregiver's Guide to Dementia

by Janet Yagoda Shagam (Available as e-book)

Using both personal narrative and verified information, this book will guide an through the basics of dementia as a brain disorder, its accompanying behaviours, the procedures used to diagnose and stage the disease, and the legal aspects of providing care for someone who has lost mental capacity due to dementia. The author also covers topics not usually included in other books on dementia, writing from personal experience.

by Bernie McCarthy (Available as e-book)

This concise and practical book explains the challenges of communication for people with dementia and provides techniques for verbal and non-verbal communication, as well as strategies for specific day-to-day situations. It’s essential reading for family caregivers, professional care staff, and anyone working with people with dementia.

Special thanks to the National Library Board (NLB) for contributing to the book list.

Additional Resources

3-Part Video Series
Caregiver Conversations
Source: Agency of Integrated Care, Dementia-Friendly Singapore

This series features conversations with Janet Koh, in which she shares her experience with caregiving & useful resources. In Part 1, Janet talks about caring for her mother who lives with dementia. View the rest of the series here.

blank

Living with Dementia: Providing Care
Source: Agency for Integrated Care

Part of a 4-part series, this resource book is designed to provide caregivers with tips on having effective communication with your loved one, how to design a daily routine with engaging activities, and managing dementia as it progresses by stage.

blank

Living with Dementia: Caring for Yourself
Source: Agency for Integrated Care

Part of a 4-part series, this resource book is designed for caregivers to learn more about their role. This includes the importance of and tips on self-care, how to cope with your emotions, caregiver stress, avoiding burnout, as well as how and where to seek help within your home and in the community.

blank

A Caregiver’s Top 20 Questions
Source: Agency for Integrated Care

This document provides answers to frequently asked pre- & post-diagnosis-related questions from caregivers

blank

Directory Listing of Dementia Support and Services
Source: Agency for Integrated Care

This 2-page directory lists all the helplines and support and services such as Community Outreach Teams, Community Intervention Teams, respite care services and caregiver support groups by area.

Was this article helpful?

Yes No
×

Tell us how we can improve?

×

Thank you for your feedback!

Your feedback will really help us to improve our content to support those living with dementia.

Follow us on social media:

Facebook Pinterest

Was this article helpful?

Yes No
×

Tell us how we can improve?

×

Thank you for your feedback!

Your feedback will really help us to improve our content to support those living with dementia.

Follow us on social media:

Facebook Pinterest

Downloadable Resources

The following material contains bite-sized information about dementia. To download or print it, simply click the image. You may also select the language of the material by clicking the “Select Language” button.

Downloadable Resources

The following material contains bite-sized information about dementia. To download or print it, simply click the image. You may also select the language of the material by clicking the “Select Language” button.

Related Articles

Sed tristique blandit facilisis eleifend elit lobortis eros, massa aenean. Suspendisse aliquam eget tortor viverra nulla duis.
Skip to content