您的反馈
Steven & Lai Quen Voices for Hope Dementia Advocates
2 Min Read

身为一位失智症人士或看护者,感到烦躁极为普遍, 尤其当周围的环境不是为您量身定做时。在这种情况下,您是否曾经觉得有人非得提出这个问题,这样一来您与所属社群不再有这种感觉?您是否想过要带领做决定? 若您有想过以上的问题,您可能可以考虑成为一名失智症的倡导者。

自我宣传在带来积极变化这一环扮演着一个十分重要的角色, 尤其是残疾人士运动1. 实际上,许多失智症人士及看护者在不同的阶段都从政策、研究及有关失智症的项目中受益2

以下的内容包括了什么是自我宣传、它的重要性及您如何成为一位倡导者。

“倡导”的意思

blank

倡导简单的来说就是给予一个群体一把声音 – 把您的信念带到人群中来达到各人及广泛的改变。倡导和权益是肩并肩的一 倡导者被授权来影响对他们看为重要的事务并且让他们掌控他们的生活。

在失智症的领域,倡导可以通过故事分享、对失智症人士及看护者所面对的困难提高意识及为失智症社群带来正面、广泛的改变。 参与倡导失智症的失智症人士及看护者都被命名为自我倡导者。

身为一名自我倡导者并不容易, 尤其是失智症人士。 您需要很大的勇气及力量来倡导其因, 尤其处在充满对失智症误解或不了解的社会。很多人认为失智症人士没有能力思考或为自己做任何决定。 然而,早已存在的倡导者社群及活动希望能够给予失智症人士过有意义的生活。实际上谁都可以成为一名自我倡导者。虽然成为一名倡导者并不容易但是一切的付出都是值得的因为您不但代表了失智症人士的社群您也让周遭的人一同建立一个失智友好的社会。

为什么失智症人士及其看护者应该参与自我倡导的活动?

Thomas and Michelle standard chartered

研究显示倡导失智症有益于参与者的身心健康 – 从各个项目和倡导者的组群3。虽然益处显著,但是我们还是得注意以下几点:  

  • 失智症人士与看护者有权利参与对他们有所影响的决定。​   
  • 2. 失智症人士所分享的人生历练和知识是集团无法夺取的资源,而且失智症是非常个人化的。这意味着我们需要更多的人来一同打造广泛及正确观念的失智症友好社群。 

新加坡失智症人士自我倡导的进展

新加坡正迈向一个失智友好的社会,并显著的通过不同活动来提高国人对失智症的意识及观念。 我国政府也在各方面做了调整来供应失智症人士及他们的看护者的需要。这开启了更多的空间来倡导失智症,这也让倡导者扮演不同的角色, 例如故事讲述者、副主持、副创作者或者积极的把失智症带入会话里。

目前的倡导工作形形色色,倡导者也可以选择参与活动的程度。自我宣传也成为了广泛活动的其一焦点:

  • 研究机会 ​
    参与研究可能需要倡导者提供研究次序、方式等方面的建议,他们也需要与受益者交流。 ​
  • 成为咨询委员会代表
    身为咨询委员会代表,倡导者可以选择为本地或全球性的范围服务。
Emily Ong Interview

提供意见及建议 

Emily Ong 是阿兹海默病国际(简称   ADI)董事会的其一成员。她也在  ADI 的全球审查小组及资格鉴定小组内服务。除此之外,Emily也是世界卫生组织(简称 WHO)全球失智症观察站知识交流的审核小组的成员。

Emily在她的博客分享了身为一名倡导者的心路历程及她如何跨越国际栏杆。

《参阅》 

  • 把个人历练在多种平台上分享
    与大众分享人生历练是倡导失智症极为有效的方式。倡导者可以选择以不同的方式来分享他的人生历练,例如社交媒体平台或媒体访问。
blank

在不同的平台分享人生历练

身为她先生,Rodney,的看护者,Jacinta的看护历程充满了起伏不均的波折。但是,她仍然尽力来支持Rodney并帮助他活出人生的色彩,过一个有意义的生活。他们的故事充满了爱、勇气及毅力。

通过Jacinta的博客,她透露了Rodney的确诊、他们共同克服的挑战及他们如何跨过种种的栏杆。

《参阅》 

  • 对不同举措、政策和失智症项目给予反馈
    倡导者的参与,尤其在项目的初步阶段,是极为有效的。倡导者可以提出项目里的盲点及检查目前的政策、服务及解决方案的方程式来确保它们不仅满足了失智症群体的基本需求也考虑到他们反复变化的需求。
SBS Transit Find your Way Initiative Dementia Advocates

“寻找归路”项目

这个项目是由SBS 和新加坡失智症协会所联手举办的。通过这个项目,他们希望帮助失智症人士在巴士转换站及地铁站认路。这个项目是由过去的研究方案所启发。研究显示熟悉和能够帮助失智症人士勾起回忆的物件能够刺激脑部的长期记忆及认知功能。

失智症自我倡导者,Anjang Rosli 和 Emily Ong 也在这个项目扮演了顾问的角色。

《参阅》 

  • 公共教育
    失智症已逐渐受到大众及媒体的关注。许多机构和工作场所都很积极的寻求失智症专家来教导学生及员工有关失智症的课题。融贯了案例与咨询,倡导者也分享了他们的人生经验及呼召在座的参与者。

失智症的多重声音 
源自 Alzheimer’s Society

《失智症的多重声音》是一部融贯了七位来自不同国家的失智症人士的短片。他们分享的课题包括自我宣传、动机及顶级贴士。这部影片是由Alzheimer’s Society, 3 Nations Dementia Working Group 及 Dementia Alliance International共同录制的。

您是否想成为一名失智症倡导者?  

《希望之声》

《希望之声》 是一个让失智症人士及看护者在应对失智症的过程中能够自我赋权的项目。这个项目也是让失智症人士成为一名失智症倡导者的平台。 设立于2019年,这个长达10个星期的项目帮助参与者如何有技巧及自信地向大众分享他们的故事、需要及观点。 这个项目的目标是挑战社会态度,减少对失智症的误解及失智症人士居所等课题。 

谁应该参与

《希望之声》最适合刚被诊断及处于早期的失智症人士。 参与者也必须具有基本的沟通能力并且有妥当的护理安排。

如何参与

欲知详情,请点击  《希望之声》

这篇咨询对您是否有帮助?

×

告诉我们如何改进?

×

感谢您的反馈!

您的反馈会帮助我们改进有关失智症的内容与信息。

Follow us on social media:

Facebook Pinterest

  1. Dementia Alliance International Global Report (2021), Link: https://dementiaallianceinternational.org/assets/documents/DAI-Global-Report-2021_Valuing-the-advocacy-of-people-with-dementia-moving-dementia-out-of-the-shadows.pdf
  2. Jason Weetch, Siobhan O’Dwyer & Linda Clare (2021) The involvement of people with dementia in advocacy: a systematic narrative review, Aging & Mental Health, 25:9, 1595-1604, DOI: 10.1080/13607863.2020.1783512

这篇咨询对您是否有帮助?

×

告诉我们如何改进?

×

感谢您的反馈!

您的反馈会帮助我们改进有关失智症的内容与信息。

Follow us on social media:

Facebook Pinterest

Downloadable Resources

The following material contains bite-sized information about dementia. To download or print it, simply click the image. You may also select the language of the material by clicking the “Select Language” button.

资料下载

以下的书籍包含了有关失智症的简化资料供您下载或打印。您只需点击插图即可。您也可以点击下方的选项来选择您所偏好的语文。

相关文章

Sed tristique blandit facilisis eleifend elit lobortis eros, massa aenean. Suspendisse aliquam eget tortor viverra nulla duis.
跳至内容

Help Us Improve
Steven & Lai Quen Voices for Hope Dementia Advocates
6 Min Read

As a person living with dementia or a care partner of one, feelings of frustration are not uncommon, especially when navigating spaces and systems that are not designed to meet your needs. In times like this, have you ever felt like something has to be said and done so that you, and others like you in the community, do not have to feel this way again? Have you ever wanted to take the lead in making these changes? If you have, you may want to consider becoming a dementia self-advocate.

Self-advocates have been essential in bringing about positive change, especially in the disability movement1. In fact, policies, research studies and various other dementia-related initiatives have benefitted from the involvement of persons living with dementia and their care partners in the development phase. 2

Read on to find out what advocacy is, why it is important, and how you can become one.

What Does Advocacy Mean?

Advocacy is about having a voice. It is about speaking up on what you believe in to achieve personal and collective change. Unsurprisingly, advocacy and empowerment go hand in hand, in that advocates are empowered to influence matters that affect them and take charge of their lives. 

In the context of dementia, advocacy can involve the sharing of stories, raising awareness about the issues faced as a person living with dementia or a care partner, and creating a positive change for the dementia community on a larger scale. Persons living with dementia and care partners involved in such advocacy efforts are often referred to as self-advocates.  

Being a dementia self-advocate is no easy feat. It takes a lot of courage and strength to speak up for yourself especially as a person living with dementia, where the common misconception is that persons living with the condition may not be able to think or decide for themselves. However, with the support of an already existing network of advocates and programmes aimed at empowering persons living with dementia to lead purposeful lives, anyone can become a self-advocate. The work put into becoming one will also be worthwhile as you will be better equipped to represent your community, as well as enable and empower others around you to build a dementia-inclusive society.  

Why Should Persons Living with Dementia and Their Caregivers be Involved in Self-advocacy Efforts?

Thomas and Michelle standard chartered

Research has shown that dementia advocacy offers potential improvements in well-being for those involved, through the activity itself and via extension of the advocate’s social networks.3 While these benefits are notable, it is also important to recognise that: 

  • Persons living with dementia and their caregivers have a right to be involved in decisions that impact their lives.  
  • Persons living with dementia bring with them lived experiences, knowledge and skills that may not be obtainable from organisational stakeholders. Furthermore, dementia manifests itself differently in every person living with dementia. This means that more voices are needed to ensure diverse and accurate representation of dementia in the community.  

What Does Advocacy Look Like in Singapore?

As Singapore works towards the goal of dementia-inclusivity, significant effort has been put into raising public awareness about dementia and making the necessary amendments to services, policies and physical spaces to better meet the needs of persons living with dementia and their care partners. This opens up more space for dementia advocacy, which allows advocates to act as story tellers, co-facilitators, co-creators and active contributors to the conversation surrounding dementia.

Advocacy efforts come in all shapes and sizes. Self-advocates can be involved in as much or as little as they would like in a wide range of activities, including: 

  • Research opportunities 

Involvement in research may include providing advice on research priorities and methodologies, speaking with various stakeholders, being a research participant or working as a research partner on the project. 

  • Participating as a representative on advisory boards or committees 

Advocates can choose to do this on a local and/or global scale.  

Emily Ong Interview

Providing input and having a say on issues related to the dementia cause 

Emily Ong is a member on the Alzheimer’s Disease International (A.D.I.) Board of Directors for the position of person with dementia. She also serves in the Global Review Panel of the A.D.I. Accreditation Team and is a focus group member of the WHO Global Dementia Observatory Knowledge Exchange.

In this blogpost, she shares her journey as a dementia advocate, and how she has stepped up her advocacy efforts at the regional and global levels.

Read on to find out more.

  • Sharing their stories on various platforms

Storytelling is a powerful way to connect with and inspire one another, which explains why it is an effective tool in advocacy. Advocates may choose to share their stories in various ways such as on their personal social media platforms and in media interviews.

Sharing personal experiences and inspiring others on various platforms

As the primary caregiver to Rodney, her husband living with dementia, Jacinta’s caregiving journey has been filled with ups and downs. But through it all, she continues to do her best to support him in all that he does and empowers him to live his life meaningfully. Theirs is a story of love, courage, and perseverance.

In this blogpost, Jacinta sheds light on Rodney’s diagnosis, their shared challenges, and the steps they take together to overcome them.

Read on to find out more. 

  • Providing feedback on various initiatives, policies and dementia care innovations

The involvement of advocates, especially from the planning stage, is effective in identifying service gaps as well as examining existing policies, services and solutions to ensure that they are meeting the basic and evolving needs of the dementia community.

SBS Transit Find your Way Initiative Dementia Advocates

SBS Transit & “Find Your Way” Initiative

A collaborative effort between SBS Transit and Dementia Singapore, “Find Your Way” aims to help persons with dementia navigate bus interchanges and MRT stations with ease. This wayfinding initiative was inspired by past research studies, which have found reminiscence to be effective in stimulating parts of the brain that deal with long-term memory and cognition.

Dementia self-advocates Anjang Rosli and Emily Ong served as advisors to this initiative.

Read on to find out more.

  • Public education

As more focus has been placed on increasing public knowledge and awareness about dementia, many learning institutions and workplaces have actively sought out experts in the field of dementia to educate students and staff on the topic. Coupled with facts and information, advocates also share their lived experiences and call-to-action with those present.

The Many Voices of Dementia 
Source: Alzheimer’s Society

The Many of Voices of Dementia Advocacy is a short film with seven people living with dementia in different countries, talking about their experiences of self-advocating, their motivation, and top tips. It was produced by Alzheimer’s Society, 3 Nations Dementia Working Group (3NDWG) and Dementia Alliance International (D.A.I.) as part of a project exploring dementia self-advocacy and inclusion.

Want to Become a Dementia Self-advocate? 

Voices for Hope

Voices for Hope is an empowerment programme aimed at empowering persons living with dementia and their care partners to embark on their self-advocacy journey. Piloted in 2019, it is a 10-week programme that equips participants with relevant skills and fosters confidence in them to actively share their stories, their needs and views publicly. The goal of Voices for Hope is to change societal attitudes, reduce the stigma of dementia and improve the landscape of how persons living with dementia are perceived and supported.

Who should join

Voices for Hope is best suited for persons who are diagnosed with mild-stage dementia, fairly proficient in communication and articulation, and with stable care arrangements.

How to join

For more information on how to sign up for the programme, click here.

Was this article helpful?

Yes No
×

Tell us how we can improve?

×

Thank you for your feedback!

Your feedback will really help us to improve our content to support those living with dementia.

Follow us on social media:

Facebook Pinterest

  1. Dementia Alliance International Global Report (2021), Link: https://dementiaallianceinternational.org/assets/documents/DAI-Global-Report-2021_Valuing-the-advocacy-of-people-with-dementia-moving-dementia-out-of-the-shadows.pdf
  2. Jason Weetch, Siobhan O’Dwyer & Linda Clare (2021) The involvement of people with dementia in advocacy: a systematic narrative review, Aging & Mental Health, 25:9, 1595-1604, DOI: 10.1080/13607863.2020.1783512

Was this article helpful?

Yes No
×

Tell us how we can improve?

×

Thank you for your feedback!

Your feedback will really help us to improve our content to support those living with dementia.

Follow us on social media:

Facebook Pinterest

Downloadable Resources

The following material contains bite-sized information about dementia. To download or print it, simply click the image. You may also select the language of the material by clicking the “Select Language” button.

Downloadable Resources

The following material contains bite-sized information about dementia. To download or print it, simply click the image. You may also select the language of the material by clicking the “Select Language” button.

Related Articles

Sed tristique blandit facilisis eleifend elit lobortis eros, massa aenean. Suspendisse aliquam eget tortor viverra nulla duis.
Skip to content