您的反馈
3 Min Read

我们的饮食对我们的健康及生活素质有一定的影响。 纵然失智症人士并不需要特殊的日用饮食,但适当的饮食习惯来摄取均衡的营养、水分、维持体重还是有必要的。 

为什么营养均衡及充足水分对失智症人士格外重要?

失智症人士营养和水分的需要是跟同龄人士相同的。当一个人摄取不够的营养及水分时,他的免疫力会降低导致容易生病,而且伤口会比较慢复原。然而,那些因行为改变而增加体能活动的失智症人士(例如在家中反复走动、焦虑的举止或游走)更需要高能量的营养来避免消瘦。

对某一些失智症人士来说,保持良好的营养会比较困难。一般的挑战包括了胃口不佳、忘记进食或饮水、忘了如何咀嚼或吞咽食物或大量进食。1 

晚期的失智症人士比较有可能减大量体重。以下是一些策略来帮助失智症人士促进食欲及建立一个正面的饮食环境。

吃得好、吃得健康

blank

营养均衡的饮食对整体健康是十分重要。 我的健康餐盘 显示了一个均衡和健康的饮食习惯所应有的食物与分量。

¼ 盘的全谷物食品

blank

全谷物食品能够补充我们体内的纤维、能量、维生素(例如维生素B1及维生素E)及矿物质(例如锌和镁)。这类的食品营养丰富的重要原因是它们没有过度加工,并保留着原本营养的成分。 研究显示全谷物食品能够避免患上慢性病例如糖尿病、心脏病和某种癌症的风险。

全谷物食品包括糙米、全麦面包和燕麦片。全谷物也可以用来制作糙米米粉、全麦面粉制成的印度卷饼和全麦早餐谷类等产品。

我们建议每天至少摄取2-3份碳水化合物/全谷物。

1份蛋白质等于: 

1个手掌大小的瘦肉、家禽、鱼

2杯低脂牛奶 

4 片低脂乳酪

¾ 煮熟的豆、豌豆、小扁豆(120克) 

4片丹贝(120g) 

¾块豆干(150克) 

blank

在饮食习惯中加入各种全谷物食品有助于确保一个人摄取更多的营养。在杂货店购物时全谷物食品,一定要留意“全谷物含量较高”的健康选择标签。

每天满足以上蛋白质的需求能够确保一个人每天摄取足够的铁和维生素B12。铁和维生素B12有助于红细胞中血红蛋白的形成;红细胞是将氧气输送到人体各个部位的细胞。食物中有两种铁。血红素铁来自肉类、家禽与鱼类等;而非血红素铁来自鸡蛋和植物(例如豆类、扁豆、豌豆)、坚果、水果和蔬菜。我们的身体摄取血红素铁比非血红素铁好。您可以将富含维生素C的食物(如橙、柠檬、西红柿、卷心菜)与含有非血红素铁的食物一起食用,这也包括用餐时喝的咖啡或茶。这些都是有助于增加摄取铁的一些方法。维生素B12的来源包括肉、鱼蛋、酸奶、豆浆和化谷物。

乳制品(低脂牛奶、奶酪、酸奶)、高钙豆浆、豆腐和罐装低钠的沙丁鱼都是蛋白质和钙的良好来源。钙有助于增强我们的骨骼和牙齿,并降低患骨质疏松症的风险。喝两杯高钙低脂牛奶或高钙豆浆可以满足每天我们身体对钙的需求 (1000mg)。维生素D有助于我们的身体更好地将钙吸收到体内。维生素D的食物来源包括油性鱼类(例如鲑鱼、鲭鱼、鳕鱼)、鸡蛋、人造黄油、强化谷物、强化乳制品(牛奶、奶酪、酸奶)和强化豆浆。满足上述蛋白质和钙的需求通常意味着一个人每天达到所推荐的维生素D含量。

½ 盘蔬菜和水果

blank

与全谷物类似,蔬菜和水果含有丰富的纤维、维生素、矿物质、植物化学物质和抗氧化剂。每天摄取足够的纤维有助于保护心脏、减低中风和患上某种癌症等慢性疾病。纤维有助于调节排便、控制血糖和胆固醇水平,并控制体重增加。

专家建议女性每天摄取20克的纤维,男性则每天摄取26克的纤维。这相当于每天2份蔬菜和2份水果。淀粉类或根类蔬菜,例如玉米和红薯和土豆,不计入每天2份蔬菜的分量。

1份水果相等于:​

1 粒小苹果、橙、梨子或芒果(130克) ​

一片木瓜、凤梨或西瓜 (130克) 

1 条中型香蕉  ​

10 粒葡萄或龙眼 

1 份蔬菜相等于:

¼ 盘煮熟的蔬菜

150克的生蔬菜 

¾ 杯煮熟的有叶蔬菜 (100克)

100 克的生无叶蔬菜 

¾ 杯生无叶蔬菜 (100克)

 

整体上,专家推荐:

  • 享用不同种类富有营养的食物
  • 每天吃至少三餐
  • 每天吃至少2份水果或蔬菜
  • 享用低脂肪和低盐份的食物
  • 享用含有钙、维生素D、铁和维生素B12的食物
  • 控制糖份的摄取

喝足够的水分

年龄较大的失智症人士可能比较容易脱水,原因包括口渴感减弱、记忆力下滑、行动不便或药物干扰其口渴机制。2 急性意识模糊/谵妄、尿道感染、便秘和伤口愈合缓慢与低水分有关。3

专家建议每天饮用6-8杯水。

摄取水分的建议:

  • 鼓励以少量而频密方式摄取全天所需的水份
  • 将1杯或1瓶水放在方便年长者容易拿到的地方
  • 如果年长者不喜欢喝纯液体,您可以鼓励他从其他液体来源摄取水份,例如汤类、果汁、牛奶、蜂蜜汁、薏米水。

通过饮食来保持认知功能

目前,与其着重于个体营养素,研究人员正在考虑推行整体饮食(尤其是植物类及含有益脂肪的食品)来预防认知功能的下降。4 原因基于饮食中各种营养素有益协同的作用。5

研究显示增加蔬菜、水果、全谷物食品和健康脂肪的摄取量为重点的健康饮食模式,并同时减少红肉、砂糖和人工食品的摄入可以降低心血管的风险来预防认知能力下降。4

一些例子包括地中海饮食、停止高血压的饮食方法(简称DASH)饮食、地中海DASH干预神经退化性延缓(简称MIND)饮食和NU-AGE饮食。

了解失智症: 第七集
源自 Agency for Integrated Care

目前并没有明确及一致的信息来确定饮食会对失智症有任何增加或降低的风险。然而,采用地中海饮食(包括谷物、水果、鱼类和蔬菜)确实有可能降低认知功能下降及避免患上失智症的可能性。 

这些饮食模式与新加坡保健促进局的“我的健康餐盘”有相似的建议,但对特定的食物组和份量有额外的建议。通常,这类饮食模式建议:

  • 选择全谷物食品(目标是每天至少吃2份全谷食品)
  • 选择瘦肉和油性鱼类(目标是每周吃至少一份油性鱼类,例如沙丁鱼、鲭鱼和鲑鱼)
  • 目标是每天吃至少2-3份蔬菜
  • 目标是每天吃至少2份水果,包括每周吃2份浆果 (例如草莓或蓝莓)
  • 使用健康的油(如橄榄油)

 

然而,目前的研究还无法确定这些饮食必须持续多久,或者在哪一个年龄阶段比较有效。4 因此,您可以在个人营养良好的情况下考虑以上建议,作为预防认知能力下降的措施。您也应当考虑满足营养不良人士的热量和蛋白质的需求,因为营养不良会导致无数健康问题。

更多资讯

blank

Nutrition and Dementia 
源自 Alzheimer’s Disease International

这份报告调查了如何通过健康的饮食习惯和正确的营养来改善失智症人士的生活。该报告的亮点如下:

  • 饮食可能会增加或降低晚年患上失智症的风险
  • 膳食营养与预防失智症的关联
  • 提供改善失智症人士营养摄取的相关建议
  • 深入研究营养和失智症的关联
blank

Eating Well with Dementia
源自 Alzheimer’s Society of Ireland

为看护者提供以下资料:

  • 了解失智症如何影响一个人的食欲和进食的体验
  • 满足失智症人士的营养需 求
  • 鼓励失智症人士享受并参与膳食准备和用餐时间
  • 处理消瘦、增重和其他可能出现的问题
blank

Eating and Living With Dignity
源自 Ministry of Health of Israel

这本指南是特地为专业护理人员和看护者所编制的。它包括了失智症人士所面对的一些挑战:

  • 进食和选择食物的困难
  • 便秘问题
  • 随着失智症的进展而导致饮食和吞咽的变化
  • 保持营养健康

作者摘要

blank
Clarissa Tai, 高级营养师

Clarissa从昆士兰大学获得营养学硕士学位后,自2019年以来就一直在陳篤生医院担任营养师的职位。她的兴趣在于帮助及改善年长者的健康、生活素质和他们对相关于营养的认识。

这篇咨询对您是否有帮助?

×

告诉我们如何改进?

×

感谢您的反馈!

您的反馈会帮助我们改进有关失智症的内容与信息。

Follow us on social media:

Facebook Pinterest
  1. Volkert D, Chourdakis M, Faxen-Irving G, et al. ESPEN guidelines on nutrition in dementia. Clinical Nutrition [Internet]. 2015 [cited 2022 Aug];34(6):1052-73. Available from https://nutritotal.com.br/pro/wp-content/uploads/sites/3/2016/03/ESPEN_demencia.pdf
  2. El-Sharkawy AM, Watson P, Neal KR, et al. Hydration and outcome in older patients admitted to hospital (The HOOP prospective cohort study). Age Ageing [Internet]. 2015 [cited 2022 Sept];44(6):943-947. Available from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4621229/
  3. Bruno C, Collier A, Holyday M, Lambert K. Interventions to improve hydration in older adults: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Nutrients [Internet]. 2021 [cited 2022 Sept];13(10):3640. Available from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4621229 DOI: 10.1093/ageing/afv119
  4. Lavingston G, Huntley J, Sommerlad A, et al. Dementia prevention, intervention, and care: 2020 report of the Lancet Commission. The Lancet [Internet]. 2020 [cited 2022 Aug];396(10248):413-446. Available from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7392084/
  5. Scarmeas N, Anastasiou CA, Yannakoulia M. Nutrition and prevention of cognitive decline. The Lancet Neurology [Internet]. 2018 [cited 2022 Aug];17(11):1006-15. Available from http://old.school.med.uoa.gr/uploads/media/LancetNeurology2018.pdf

这篇咨询对您是否有帮助?

×

告诉我们如何改进?

×

感谢您的反馈!

您的反馈会帮助我们改进有关失智症的内容与信息。

Follow us on social media:

Facebook Pinterest

Downloadable Resources

The following material contains bite-sized information about dementia. To download or print it, simply click the image. You may also select the language of the material by clicking the “Select Language” button.

资料下载

以下的书籍包含了有关失智症的简化资料供您下载或打印。您只需点击插图即可。您也可以点击下方的选项来选择您所偏好的语文。

相关文章

Sed tristique blandit facilisis eleifend elit lobortis eros, massa aenean. Suspendisse aliquam eget tortor viverra nulla duis.
跳至内容

8 Min Read

The type of food we eat will affect our health and quality of life. While there is no special diet required for persons living with dementia, the condition may bring about challenges to proper nutrition, hydration, and weight maintenance. Here are a few ways to ensure that your loved one has a well-balanced and nutritious diet, drinks sufficient amounts of liquid, and maintains physical and mental well-being. 

Why is Proper Nutrition & Hydration Especially Important for Persons Living with Dementia?

The nutritional and hydration needs of persons living with dementia will be similar to other people of their age. People who are undernourished tend to get sick more often and recover from illness and injury more slowly. However, those who experience increased physical activity from restless behaviours (such as pacing up and down, wandering and fidgeting), may need a higher amount of nutrients to try to minimize weight loss. 

For most persons living with dementia, maintaining good nutrition may be a challenge. Some of the changes they may experience include a loss of appetite, forgetting to eat and drink, forgetting how to chew or swallow, or developing an insatiable appetite.1 

People in the later stages of dementia may lose a considerable amount of weight. Learn about strategies to help promote oral intake and create a positive eating environment here. If there is persistent weight loss or poor appetite despite these strategies, it is recommended to seek advice from a dietitian. 

Eating Well for Healthy Ageing

Eating a well-balanced nutritious diet is important for overall health. My Healthy Plate shows the portions required for a balanced and healthy diet, which is a guideline for one to aim for.

¼ Plate of Wholegrains

Wholegrains provide us with energy, fibre, vitamins (e.g. vitamin B and vitamin E) and minerals (e.g. zinc, magnesium). They are rich in nutrients as they are not overly processed, with their original form being kept. Eating more wholegrains have been shown to lower one’s risk of developing chronic diseases such as diabetes, heart diseases and certain cancers. 

Wholegrains include brown rice, wholegrain bread and oatmeal. Wholegrains can also be used to make products such as brown rice vermicelli, chapati from wholemeal flour and wholegrain breakfast cereals.  

It is recommended to consume at least 2-3 servings of carbohydrates/wholegrains per day

1 serving of protein equals to: 

1 palm size of lean meat/poultry/fish 

2 glasses of low-fat milk 

4 slices of low-fat cheese 

¾ cup of cooked beans/peas/lentils (120g) 

4 pieces of tempeh (120g) 

¾ block of tau kwa (150g) 

Incorporating a variety of wholegrains will help to ensure one gets more nutrients and makes mealtime more interesting. Do keep a look out for “Higher in Wholegrains” Healthier Choice Symbol during grocery shopping. 

Meeting the above protein requirements per day will help to ensure that one gets sufficient amounts of iron and vitamin B12 daily. Iron and vitamin B12 help in the formation of haemoglobin in our red blood cells, which are needed to carry oxygen to all parts of our body. There are two types of iron in foods. Haem iron comes from animal sources (such as meat, poultry, fish) and non-haem iron come from eggs and plant sources (such as beans, lentils, peas), nuts, fruits and vegetables. Our body absorbs haem iron better than non-haem iron. Eating foods rich in vitamin C (e.g. oranges, lemons, tomatoes, cabbage) together with foods containing non-haem iron, and drinking coffee/tea away from meals are some ways to help to increase iron absorption. Sources of vitamin B12 include meat, fish egg, yoghurt, fortified soymilk and fortified cereal.  

Dairy products (low fat milk/cheese/yoghurt), high calcium soy milk, tofu and canned low sodium sardines are both good sources of protein and calcium. Calcium helps to strengthen our bones and teeth and reduces the risk of osteoporosis. Drinking 2 cups of high calcium low-fat milk or high calcium soy milk will allow one to meet their daily calcium requirements of 1000mg per day. Vitamin D helps our body to better absorb calcium into our body. Food sources of vitamin D include oily fish (e.g. salmon, mackerel, cod), eggs, margarine, fortified cereals, fortified dairy (milk, cheese, yoghurt) and fortified soy milk. Meeting above protein and calcium requirements will generally mean that one is meeting recommended amounts of vitamin D per day.

½ Plate of Vegetables and Fruits


Similar to wholegrains, vegetables and fruits are rich in fibre. They are also rich in vitamins, minerals, phytochemicals and antioxidants. Consumption of adequate fibre daily helps protect one against chronic diseases such as heart diseases, stroke and certain cancers. Fibre helps to regulate our bowel movement, control blood sugar and cholesterol levels, and manage weight gain.  

It is recommended for women to take 20g of fibre per day and men to take 26g of fibre per day. This equates to 2 servings of vegetables and 2 servings of fruits per day. Starchy or root vegetables like corn, sweet potato and potato do not count towards the 2 serves of vegetables per day. 

1 serving of fruit equals to: 

1 small apple, orange, pear or mango (130g) 

1 wedge of papaya, pineapple or watermelon (130g) 

1 medium banana 

10 grapes or longans 

1 serving of vegetable equals to: 

¼ round plate of cooked vegetables 

150g of raw leafy vegetables 

¾ cup of cooked leafy vegetables 

(100g) 

100g of raw non-leafy vegetables 

¾ cup of non-leafy vegetables (100g) 

 

Overall, it is recommended to: 

  • Enjoy a wide variety of nutritious foods across and within food groups 
  • Eat at least 3 meals a day 
  • Eat 2 servings of fruits and 2 servings of vegetables a day 
  • Eat a diet low in saturated fats and salt 
  • Include foods containing calcium, vitamin D, iron and vitamin B12 
  • Use added sugars in moderation 
     

Drinking Enough Fluids

Persons living with dementia who are older may be more susceptible to dehydration due to reasons such as a blunted sense of thirst, poor memory, immobility or medications interfering with their thirst mechanism.2 Low hydration levels are associated with incidences of acute confusion/delirium, urinary tract infections, constipation and delayed wound healing.3

It is recommended to aim for 6-8 glasses of water per day. 

Tips to increase fluid intake include: 

  • Frequent encouragement of small amounts of fluids throughout the day 
  • Keep a cup/bottle of water within reach of the elderly 
  • If the senior is not keen on drinking plain fluids, other sources of fluids such as soup, juices, milk, honey water, barley water can be encouraged 

Preservation of Cognitive Function

There is currently a move in research to consider the evidence for whole diets (particularly those which are plant-based, rich in good fats), rather than individual nutrients, to help with the prevention of cognitive and functional decline.4 This could probably be due to the synergistic beneficial effects of various nutrients in a diet.5

Research suggests that healthy dietary patterns with an emphasis on higher consumption of vegetables, fruits, wholegrains and healthy fats, while minimising red meat, refined sugars and processed foods intake may work as a preventative measure to cognitive decline by reducing cardiovascular risks.4 

Some examples include the Mediterranean Diet, Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension (DASH) Diet, Mediterranean-DASH Intervention for Neurodegenerative Delay (MIND) Diet and NU-AGE Diet.

Understanding Dementia: Part 7
Source: Agency for Integrated Care

Today, there has been no clear and consistent information on dietary factors that may increase or decrease the risk for the onset of dementia. However, adopting a Mediterranean diet may lower the risk of cognitive decline and dementia. This means eating higher proportions of grains, fruits, fish and vegetables.

These dietary patterns share similar recommendations with My Healthy Plate from the Health Promotion Board (Singapore), though with additional advice for specific food groups and portion sizes. In common, these dietary patterns recommend: 

  • Selecting wholegrains (aim for at least 2 serves of wholegrains per day) 
  • Choose lean meat and oily fish (aim for at least 1 serving of oily fish such as sardine, mackerel, and salmon per week) 
  • Aim for at least 2-3 serves of vegetables per day 
  • Aim for at least 2 servings of fruits per day, including 2 serves of berries per week 
  • Incorporate healthy oils (e.g. olive oil) 

However, current research has not yet been able to determine how long the exposure to these diets must be or during which ages is it more effective.4 Hence, individuals should be encouraged to follow the above recommendations if they are nutritionally well, as a preventative measure to cognitive decline. There should also be focus on meeting caloric and protein requirements for individuals who are undernourished as poor nutrition can lead to a myriad of health issues. 

Additional Resources

Nutrition and Dementia 
Source: Alzheimer’s Disease International

This report investigates how a healthy diet and the right nutrition can improve the lives of persons living with dementia. The publication features:

  • Dietary factors across the life course that might increase or decrease the risk of onset of dementia in later life;
  • Relationship between dietary nutrients and dementia prevention;
  • Recommendations on the actions to take in order to improve the nutrition of persons living with dementia; and
  • The need for more research on nutrition and dementia.

Eating Well with Dementia
Source: Alzheimer’s Society of Ireland

  • Provides caregivers with information on:
  • Understanding how dementia can affect a person’s appetite and experience with food;
  • Meeting the nutritional needs of a person with dementia;
  • Encouraging a person with dementia to enjoy and be involved in meal preparation and mealtimes; and
  • Dealing with weight loss, weight gain and other issues that can emerge.

Eating and Living With Dignity
Source: Ministry of Health of Israel

This guide for care professionals and family caregivers provides information, tips, and recommendations addressing the following in persons with dementia, such as:

  • Difficulties with eating and choosing food;
  • Constipation problems;
  • Changes in eating and swallowing as dementia progresses; and
  • Maintaining health nutrition.

AUTHOR BIO

Clarissa Tai, Senior Dietitian

After graduating from the University of Queensland with a Master in Dietetics degree, Clarissa has been working as a dietitian at Tan Tock Seng Hospital since 2019.  Her interest lies in working with the geriatric population, to help improve their health, quality of life and awareness of nutrition related issues.

Was this article helpful?

Yes No
×

Tell us how we can improve?

×

Thank you for your feedback!

Your feedback will really help us to improve our content to support those living with dementia.

Follow us on social media:

Facebook Pinterest
  1. Volkert D, Chourdakis M, Faxen-Irving G, et al. ESPEN guidelines on nutrition in dementia. Clinical Nutrition [Internet]. 2015 [cited 2022 Aug];34(6):1052-73. Available from https://nutritotal.com.br/pro/wp-content/uploads/sites/3/2016/03/ESPEN_demencia.pdf 
  2. El-Sharkawy AM, Watson P, Neal KR, et al. Hydration and outcome in older patients admitted to hospital (The HOOP prospective cohort study). Age Ageing [Internet]. 2015 [cited 2022 Sept];44(6):943-947. Available from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4621229/
  3. Bruno C, Collier A, Holyday M, Lambert K. Interventions to improve hydration in older adults: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Nutrients [Internet]. 2021 [cited 2022 Sept];13(10):3640. Available from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4621229 DOI: 10.1093/ageing/afv119
  4. Lavingston G, Huntley J, Sommerlad A, et al. Dementia prevention, intervention, and care: 2020 report of the Lancet Commission. The Lancet [Internet]. 2020 [cited 2022 Aug];396(10248):413-446. Available from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7392084/ 
  5. Scarmeas N, Anastasiou CA, Yannakoulia M. Nutrition and prevention of cognitive decline. The Lancet Neurology [Internet]. 2018 [cited 2022 Aug];17(11):1006-15. Available from http://old.school.med.uoa.gr/uploads/media/LancetNeurology2018.pdf

Was this article helpful?

Yes No
×

Tell us how we can improve?

×

Thank you for your feedback!

Your feedback will really help us to improve our content to support those living with dementia.

Follow us on social media:

Facebook Pinterest

Downloadable Resources

The following resources contain bite-sized information on The ABCDs of Dementia Progression that you may download and/ or print: 
Click on the images below to download in English.

Related Articles

Sed tristique blandit facilisis eleifend elit lobortis eros, massa aenean. Suspendisse aliquam eget tortor viverra nulla duis.
Skip to content